On the "Manage Users" page, there are two settings which are related:


  • "Are you still working?" popup
  • "Allow Manual Time" setting

Only Admins and Owners (not Managers or Regular Users) have access to the Manage Users page.  Here's what those two settings look like:



[Click here for larger image]



This article will explain the functionality and interaction of those two settings. Let's start with the "Allow Manual time" setting...


"Allow Manual Time" Setting


If you Allow Manual Time:

  • Any edits that your users make to their work time on the website will be approved by default, but as a Manager or Admin, you'll be able to disapprove any of their edits by using your Review Manual Time Page
  • If your users get automatically put on break due to a period of no keyboard or mouse activity, they will be able to add manual time using the "Are you still working?" popup (this is explained further in the section below about the "Are you still working?" popup).

If you do NOT Allow Manual Time, then:

  • Any edits that your users make to their work time on the website will be disapproved by default, but as a Manager or Admin, you'll be able to approve any of their edits by using your Review Manual Time Page
  • If your users get automatically put on break due to a period of no keyboard or mouse activity, they will NOT be able to add manual time using the "Are you still working?" popup (this is explained further in the section below about the "Are you still working?" popup).

Please note that Manual Time includes mobile time. So your setting for "Allow Manual Time" will also affect whether work that your users track using the Time Doctor mobile app is approved or disapproved by default.



The "Are you still working?" Popup

The "Are you still working?" popup appears for your users after they haven't used their keyboard or mouse for length of time that you select on the Manage Users page. For example, if you've selected 3 minutes, then the user will see this 15 second count-down warning after 3 minutes of no keyboard or mouse activity:








If the user doesn't respond to the warning, then when the 15 seconds are up, he/she will be automatically put on a break, and the warning popup will be replaced by one of two other popups. Which of the two versions appears depends on whether you have "Allow Manual Time" selected for that user.


If "Allow Manual Time" is selected...


The user will see this popup if they don't respond to the 15 second warning:





Note that the user has the option to enter in a task name and click "I was working". If the user clicks on "I was working", then the time that they were idle will be filled with manual work time which will appear in reports on the Time Doctor website as a yellow (not green) bar. That manual (yellow) work time will have the reason "- Away from computer -" displayed when viewed on the "Review Manual Time" page.  As a manager or administrator, you have the option to review manual time on your Review Manual Time Page, where you can disapprove the manual time if you wish.


If "Allow Manual Time" is NOT selected...


The user will see this popup if they don't respond to the 15 second warning:






Note that there is no option to click "I was working" on this popup, so the user is unable to fill their idle time with manual work by using the popup. All they can do is indicate that they are now starting work again.


HOWEVER although they can't add manual time by using the popup, they CAN still add edit their work time and add manual time via the website. But since "Allow Manual Time" is not selected for this user, any manual time that they do add will be disapproved by default (you can later approve it if you choose to).



For questions, comments or feedback regarding this topic, please send an email to support@timedoctor.com.