What are Permanent Tasks?
There are 3 types of tasks in Time Doctor:
Regular Tasks are created by each user for himself/herself directly in the Time Doctor desktop & mobile apps.
Integrated Tasks are created in third-party applications and synced to Time Doctor by activating one of Time Doctor's integrations (i.e. Trello integration, Basecamp integration, etc). The full list of integrations is here.
Permanent Tasks are created by administrators on a per-project basis. Each permanent task can be worked on by anyone who has access to the project containing the permanent task.
How to create Permanent Tasks
Administrators can create permanent tasks on the Projects Settings page.
You can learn more about projects here.
Managers can also create permanent tasks if they have been given access to the Projects Settings page (Admins can give managers access to the Projects Settings page on the Company Settings page).
How Permanent Tasks work
Permanent tasks will appear in Time Doctor desktop and mobile applications of any user who has been given access to projects containing permanent tasks. Here's how they look in the Time Doctor Pro desktop app:
Permanent tasks cannot be marked complete by the user, so permanent tasks will remain "permanently" in the user's desktop/mobile applications until the administrator either removes the permanent tasks from the project, or removes the user from the project.
Permanent tasks are identified by a pin icon next to the task name on both the Time Doctor website and the desktop/mobile apps.
How to have your employees use ONLY permanent tasks (no regular tasks)
If you only want your employees to use permanent tasks that you've created, and you don't want them to be able to create their own tasks, you can set that up on your Manage Users page. If you choose to allow any users to use only permanent tasks, it is important that you make sure they have access to projects that contain permanent tasks, otherwise those users won't be able to track their work.
If you allow only permanent tasks, the user will still be able to track time to any integrated tasks, but they won't be able to add their own regular tasks.
For questions, comments or feedback regarding this topic, please send an email to email@example.com.